St Anne’s Academic Review – Volume 11, 2021

St Anne’s Academic Review is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal published by graduates of St Anne’s College, Oxford. The mission of STAAR is to showcase the college’s intellectual activity of the year and give college members the opportunity to develop professional skills in academic publishing, as authors or editors.

Members and alumni of college are invited each year to submit articles to STAAR in any discipline. Where accepted, articles will receive feedback from a team of trained editors before going through an Open Peer Review process involving academics who specialise in the author’s field.

Since its founding in 2009, STAAR has expanded to include creative writing pieces and Spark Reviews on culture and the arts. In 2021, the journal joined forces with St Anne’s MCR Podcast (STAMP) to produce Fresh Academic Voices, an exciting podcast series featuring interviews with five of the nine academic contributors to Volume 11.

Listen to Fresh Academic Voices on Spotify:

Editor-in-Chief: Ye-Ye Xu
Producer/Director: Daniel Mercieca
Camera/Editing: Nina Mangold

Bay of Laig

Bay of Laig is a piece for solo violin written by Fergus Hall that was commissioned by Nevis Ensemble and the Jobson Family – Jackie, Jonny, Niamh, Finn and Betsy-Mae – who live on the Isle of Eigg. Eigg is one of the Small Isles of the Scottish Inner Hebrides along with Rùm, Canna and Muck.

The piece was written in lockdown during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is about the restorative power of beaches and swimming in the sea; the sense of being grounded that one can feel when standing in or near the water. Bay of Laig is one of ten Lochan Sketches commissioned for the Year of Coasts and Waters 2020. It received its broadcast premiere on Sunday 31 August 2020 on BBC Radio Scotland’s Classics Unwrapped programme and was performed live for the first time at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival in August 2022.